No Ephod Required

Standard

I have a confession. (actually, I probably have many, but we’ll take it slowly for now…)  I’ve never read the Bible cover to cover.  Ever.  I’ve started plans and abandoned plans usually before I got out of Genesis.  I have read and studied my Bible daily for some time now, but never front to back.  This year, I made a commitment to actually start and finish it this time.  With the help of an awesome reading plan, I am happy to report that I am right on track!

It’s usually those OT books that bog you down – all those “begats” and descriptions of how to sacrifice different animals.  It can seems like none of it is relevant to us.  Give me some promises!  Give me some miracles!  Give me some stories I remember from Sunday School!  You can imagine my delight when something very relevant was revealed to me in the book of Exodus.

It hit me while I was out running one day.  I live in a very rural area.  When I run, it’s usually me and an assorted pack of dogs trucking it down some back roads near our farm.  I pray and worship a lot while I run.  If you live in a busy area, you should probably be a bit more cautious about this.  Thankfully, where I live the only traffic I see (besides the dogs) are typically tractors and an occasional farm truck.  I pretty much have free reign of the road.  I highly recommend it.

I was thinking of my morning’s reading about Aaron and the painstakingly elaborate details he and his sons had to follow to access God for the children of Israel.  Let me tell you – it was very specific.  The color of the thread used in their robes, the ephod, the lampstand, the ark – so many verses dedicated solely to the preparation of the Tabernacle, the priestly garments, and the preparation of the sacrifices.

Yet, here I am in sweaty old running clothes with a pack of dogs on a country backroad, talking to God!  Whoa!  I wasn’t running in an ephod!  I was free of all those requirements.  How?  By the blood of Jesus.  The veil has been torn.  We can freely enter in to His presence at any time and anywhere we choose. Thank you, God, for making it so easy for us!

So…why don’t we talk to Him more often?  If He is so accessible to us now, why don’t we make more time for Him?  I could understand if we had to kill an animal first.  That would take up a little more time, (plus, you might want to shower afterwards…) but we don’t have to do that…So, I challenge us all to put down whatever it is that is taking up your time (your electronic devices, your remote control, maybe even your child) and speak to Him.

I talk to God quite a bit more now than ever, but I don’t always go to a special place and kneel.  I pray when I wash dishes, fold laundry, drive, and shower.  I listen to my worship music and just talk to Him.  Sometimes I have specific requests, sometimes I am asking for guidance, and sometimes I am just thanking Him for being who He is.  He just wants us to want Him.  I can’t go without Him.  I need Him.  He wants you to need Him too.  Talk to Him.  He is your Father and longs to hear from you.

Scripture
“Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every ocassion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers…” Ephesians 6:18, NLT

Our Prayer

God, help us to be mindful of our time and to be more aware of Your presence. We want to spend more time in prayer lifting up others and seeking You. Open our hearts and minds to things we can let go so that we can make more time for You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Actions
I’ve got an awesome website/app to share with you today that will totally simplify your time with God even more!  It is totally free and can be accessed on your computer or other device.  Wait!  Wasn’t I just asking you to put those things down???  Yes, I was, but this will enhance your time with Him not distract from it and save you some money too! You can crush candy and update your status later…

It’s called Freegal. It’s through your public library. All you need is a library card and you can access thousands of songs for free! It’s totally legal to download them and save them on your phone or computer. Just visit http://www.freegalmusic.com or download the app in the App store. I have tons of songs on my phone that I can listen to anytime for free! Music is a great part of my prayer time. Make it part of yours too!

20140408-101713.jpg

One thought on “No Ephod Required

Leave a Reply

